The People


Maggie Boylan
Maggie Boylan is in her first year as Zelienople Area Public Library director and is looking forward to meeting our patrons and discovering what makes our community special.  Previous to coming to Zelie, Maggie worked at The Art Institutes, Virginia Commonwealth University and The University of Arkansas.  We are lucky to have a librarian of her caliber and look forward to having her here for a long time.



Amy Kellner

Amy Kellner
Amy is the Adult Services Librarian. Amy handles interlibrary loan requests, assists patrons with the internet and oversees the circulation desk. She also selects and processes new audio-visual materials and young adult books.



Staci Burr

Staci Bettencourt
Staci is our Children’s Services Coordinator.  Miss Staci does programs for infants thru older elementary children all year long.  She also maintains the children’s library collection.


Kate Steeb

Kate Steeb
Kate is our library clerk.  She does all our purchasing, keeps our statistics, and handles our memorial donations and our annual fund drive proceeds. Kate also processes our reserves, creates our shelf list and processes new items.


Amelia Petrus

Amelia Petrus 

Amelia, one of our clerks, can usually be found at the circ desk assisting patrons with checkouts and other tasks.  She also is the library inventory specialist.

 The staff and trustees also would like to take this opportunity to thank our crew of loyal volunteers for their help in shelving and various other endeavors. We could not do without our wonderful group of adult and junior volunteers.



President Gregg Semel
Vice PresidentCarolyn Skillman
SecretaryCarey Fritz
TreasurerJim Samarco


Board Representation

Municipal Appointments

Susie AltemusHarmony
Carolyn SkillmanZelienople
Gregg SemelZelienopleBorough Council Rep
Trent GeisJackson Twp.  

Jan MortonLancaster Twp.

Board Appointments 

Jim Samarco, Kent Miller, Carey Fritz, Ellen Fleming, Kathy Voltz

Community Organizations – Mimi Wilson

Friends of the Library– Debie Carbeau

Trustees meet the 4th Wednesday of the month at 6:30 pm.

If you would like to address the board please contact the director prior to the meeting to be placed on the agenda.  If you are interested in serving on the board please leave your contact info for the director.

2018 Scheduled Trustees Meetings

January 24, February 28, March 28,  April 25,  May 23,  June 27,  July – no meeting,  August 22,  September 19 (note change in regular date), October 24,  November – no meeting, December 5 (note change to regular monthly date).

Regular trustees meetings are the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6:30 pm.  Changes to the regular schedule are noted above.  If you would like to address the board, please contact the Library Director prior to the meeting.